Days 152 and 153: Dotee dolls!

8 Jun

I have another swap coming due this week, and it’s time I get crackin’ on my item.  This swap was for a mother themed dotee doll.

What is a dotee doll, you ask?

Well, to be honest…I don’t really know.  They’re all over swap-bot, but all the links to their origin are dead.  From the internet, I’ve put together the following definition:

Dotee doll: a small hand-sewn cloth doll with a sack-shaped body and appliqued face.  Dotees are supposed to be therapeutic to make, be kinda crazy looking, and are meant to be traded or given as gifts.

Yesterday, I tried out this odd little art form for the very first time.

waaaaaaaaaaa

So this is my first dotee.  I actually didn’t like the way she was coming out, so I didn’t finish her.  The baby comes out of the apron pocket.  The whole thing is poorly done and rather ugly….so I scrapped it and tried again today.

tada!

My swap partner has 2 kids and likes country music.  I gave this dotee a pair of cowboy boots and 2 little babies to hug to her chest.  These things are so crazy…I hope she likes it!

One Response to “Days 152 and 153: Dotee dolls!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Days 254-261: Should I be calling this “My SOMETIMES Giggle”??????????? « My Daily Giggle - September 25, 2011

    […] Since I was yucky forever (so it seems), I only had the energy for one bit of craftiness this week.  I’m still involved in mail swaps via Swap-bot, and I had a dotee doll swap due this week.  For those of you who don’t remember what a dotee doll is…click here! […]

Leave a Reply

