Day 151: Stone-faced

6 Jun

I’ve been spending a lot of my time in art supply stores lately, and today I came across an unusual product.  Introducing “Shape & Mold” modeling compound by a company called WeVeel!

I don’t normally buy air dry clay.  I find it lacks plasticity and tends to crumble when hard.  However, this stuff was on clearance, and it was just too cool to pass up!  It came in a million different textures like wood, stone, cork, etc.  At $2 a piece, I had a really hard time picking only one, but I ended up with the stone texture.  I brought it home, laid down some parchment, and got to work.  Now what was I going to make……?

A curvy mermaid of course!

So there she is, all stone-faced.  I was going for a Copenhagen style Little Mermaid look.

See the resemblance?

The bronze statue, however iconic, is far too waif-like in my opinion.  I gave my mermaid some curves!

side view

back view

She’s little…only about 4″ high.  While I love the stone texture, the clay was a bit spongy and couldn’t hold much fine detail.  I don’t think it takes away from the piece though.  And I like her dreads…  🙂

Leave a Reply

