Days 141 and 142: Animalistic tendencies?

29 May

I didn’t giggle yesterday.  😦  I was a bit upset and just couldn’t focus on blogging.  However, I more than made up for it today!

I took Scottie-boy into Manhattan today for a culture filled birthday extravaganza.  Honestly, as much as I b!tch and complain about living in NY, there really is no place like it.  There’s just so much going on all the time.  Sights, smells, sounds…..it can be a bit overwhelming sometimes.  Still, you just can’t beat NYC for culture.

Hubby’s birthday present this year was dinner and a show.  I got an awesome deal on StubHub for Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo.  Weird name, I know…but it was truly incredible.  I’ve never seen a play like this before.  I just can’t stop thinking about it.  It didn’t hurt that the title role was played by Robin Williams either…

RAAAWWWWRRRRRRR!

The show isn’t the only part of my day that left an impression.  We had THE most amazing dinner before going to the theatre.  Scott is a taco freak.  He always begs me to cook, bring in, and/or go out to Mexican food.  I, on the other hand, can pretty much take it or leave it….more often than not, I leave it.  This time, I gave in.  I made reservations at a place called Toloache in the theatre district, and it turned out to be one of the best meals I’ve ever had!

It was gosh darn pretty too!

Everything on Toloache’s menu sounded delicious.  Instead of ordering entrees, Scott and I decided to order a bunch of small plates and have “Mexican tapas!”  I’m not going to go into detail about each and every selection (I’m not a food critic after all!), but there is one item that I absolutely have to share.  Today’s giggle: chapulines tacos!!!!!!!!!

What are chapulines, you ask?  They are toasted grasshoppers!!!!!!!

Yum!

Yeah, yeah, yeah……I know I’m a bit more adventurous than most, but this was still a stretch for me.  I mean…..they’re freakin’ bugs, for goodness sake!  Creepy, crawly, scary little bugs!!!!  I don’t eat bugs….that’s something my cats do.  However, someone apparently thought that these critters were worth putting on a NYC restaurant menu, so…..I had to try them.

Here they are in taco form.  The tacos has lettuce, onions, chiles, and guacamole in addition to the grasshoppers.  Honestly, they looked innocent enough at first glance.  The chapulines looked more like walnuts than grasshoppers, which is funny, because they had a definite nutty flavor accented by chile and lime.  The texture was a bit unusual…..very crunchy like eating shrimp tails.  All in all, I have to say that they were pretty tasty!  Thumbs up for grasshoppers!!!!! (and for the tuna watermelon ceviche in the background of that picture….seriously delicious!)

So, what do you think about eating bugs?  Would you try them for a meal?  Would you eat them with an eel?  Would you, could you in a taco?  Or do you think it’s really wacko?

Dr Seuss I’m not…

 

Leave a Reply

