Days 132 and 133: Traveler’s Anonymous

20 May

Lots going on….Let me sum up.

First of all, apparently tomorrow is the end of the world according to these crazies…  This has totally been the hot topic of conversation lately!  All  my students have been talking about it…7th graders are scared sh*tless, while 11th graders are hoping for a zombie apocalypse a la call of duty!  Insane!  I, for one, don’t think whatever divine being there is would let us lowly humans know if the end was near (or “nigh” as the crazy street corner people say).  Let’s think about this, shall we?  If you were G-d, and you were going to wipe the slate clean, would you let the creatures you were going to kill know?????  Especially if your whole point in doing so was to “save” the righteous and make everyone else suffer?!  I’d like to think that G-d, whomever he/she/it may be, would keep that information to himself.  Regardless, people have been speculating for hundreds if not thousands of years when the world would officially “end” and no one’s got it right yet.  Won’t these people feel real stupid when they wake up Sunday morning to find that all’s well?

Besides, I’m kinda tired of hearing this song….

So I’ve been working on a drawing based on this “end of the world ” theme, but I’m not ready to show it yet.  Later.

What I am ready to show is my lame attempt at culinary excellence!  I pride myself on being a world traveler.  Every chance Scott and I get, we are off to some exotic or unusual locale.  Unfortunately, cash has been tight lately…so we haven’t gone on many trips.  Instead, we live vicariously through TV personalities on the Travel Channel.  The only time I even turn on the TV is to watch reruns of Bizarre Foods or No Reservations!  Tonight I made a Bizarre Foods inspired dinner.

Some time ago, Andrew Zimmern took a trip down to Trinidad.  He ate all kinds of weird and crazy stuff there, but it was the “bake and shark” that really caught my interest.  I mean really…..who doesnt’t love a fried fish sandwich?!  I decided to make my own version tonight.

I followed this base recipe, but added my own twist here and there (whole wheat flour anyone?)

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

I made the fry bread from scratch, and it honestly wasn’t worth the trouble.  I’m not very good at frying things….I don’t do it often, so I don’t do it well.  In the future, I’d substitute pita bread and probably bake the fish.  The spices and marinade were delicious, as was my homemade coleslaw.

My mouth is watering...

I wonder if it was close to the Trini version…

Leave a Reply

