Day 131: Turned upside-down and drama free

18 May

I wonder who coined the phrase “upside down”….It couldn’t have been someone too bright, I mean…what a dumb phrase!  Who refers to an objects top surface as its “upside” anyway???

Today was an average day in the life of me.  Nothing extraordinary to report.  Things have pretty much returned to normal, I guess.  I’ve been trying really hard to stay cool and centered.  I don’t know what’s gotten into people…or me for that matter…but everyone seems to have been a little crazy lately.  If I’d wanted drama, I’d have been an actress!

I finished yesterday’s mermaid painting and am pretty happy with the results.  She looks a tad different than you will remember…

ahhhhhhh

The colors are a bit off cuz my scanner’s on the fritz.  She’s much richer in person.  Some of you may remember that I drew her upside-down, but she just wasn’t working for me.  I kept thinking that this beauty looked heavy curving downward…not heavy as in fat, but as in weighed down by something…like all the crap I’ve been dealing with.  Flipped over, she looks like she’s floating along without a care in the world.

I strive for this kind of emotional freedom every day.  I admire people who “go with the flow” and just let the destiny/fate/etc carry them through.  It would be so freeing to cast off all the nonsense and drama and just float along happy as a clam…or in this case, a mermaid.  Someday….

Leave a Reply

