Day 115:

2 May

I left the title of today’s post blank, because I can’t really find the words to describe how I’m feeling right now.  So much has happened in such a short time.  I’ve spent my day searching my soul for the meaning of all this.

So, in case you didn’t know…Osama bin Laden is dead.  That’s all fine and good, I guess.  I mean, he’s an evil mass murdering psycho right?  And he’s responsible for the deaths of all those innocent people on 9/11.  And a dozen different countries have been searching for him for almost 10 years…He had it coming to him.

What I’m having a hard time with is the way my fellow Americans have reacted to the whole thing.  Everyone’s gone all red, white, and blue.  People who were complaining about Obama and the U.S. government yesterday are waving flags and dancing in the streets today.  It just seems so twisted.  How angry were they when citizens of other countries celebrated the bombings on 9/11?  How are we really any different?  Violence may sometimes be a necessary evil, but it’s still evil and should not be celebrated!  I’m glad bin Laden can’t kill any more people, but I don’t need to stoop to his level and celebrate death!

Anyway, so this whole thing has been eating at me all day.  I swear, if I hear “Proud to be an American” one more time, I’m gonna puke!  I’ve always been proud of my country, but right now….not so much.  I’m rather ashamed by my compatriots’ disgusting behavior.  Embarrassed, is a better word I think.  Now, I understand why so many nations hate us….. As a whole, Americans can be pretty insensitive.

Since I was feeling down and frustrated, I decided to compile a list of inspirational websites for today’s giggle.  I know it’s not all artsy fartsy, but it made me feel better about myself and this great country.

1.  100 Thing Challenge – I came across this site today while searching for ways to downsize my life.  I’ve just got so much stuff and nowhere for it to go!  This guy basically challenged himself to downsize his life to 100 things that he really couldn’t live without./  How amazing!  I’m sitting here staring at my gnome collection, Scott’s movies, the kitchen appliances that live above the refrigerator, and all the random clutter about my place and think…..what if?

2. The Happiness Project  – This fabulous website is actually a companion to the book I’m currently reading by the same name.  I have yet to formulate a solid opinion about Gretchen Rubin’s approach to a happier life, but I’m inspired by her dedication to her project.  What is My Daily Giggle but a happiness project of my own?

3. How Do I Love Me – Sign the pledge to do something loving for yourself for the next 31 days.  What a wonderful idea!  I signed the pledge…did you?

4.  Beliefnet – This is  a great all around inspirational website.  While I tend to stay away from the religious side of it, I really appreciate the inspirational stories and articles, as well as the humor and comments from real people.

5. Heal Your Life  – Like beliefnet, it’s chock full of self help articles and daily affirmations.  It’s given me several great ideas.

Well, there it is….my inspirational list.  Let me know if you follow any of my links and what you think.

Lastly, Gratefulness.org…..I’ve lit a virtual candle dedicated to all those people who’ve needlessly lost their lives, as well as those people who won’t allow themselves to really live.

2 Responses to “Day 115:”

  1. Adrianna May 2, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    I’m in total agreement with you and those website sound great. Nice post, Marissa.

    • mydailygiggle May 3, 2011 at 7:36 am #

      Thanks Adrianna. This whole thing has just really been bothering me. I know that a lot of people are personalizing the whole thing because of the 9/11 tragedy, but I still don’t think that makes it okay to take pleasure in another’s death. I wish more people thought the way we do…but that’s the beauty of this great country: We are free to think and say what we want.

Leave a Reply

