Day 109: 29 before 30

26 Apr

Today was a very very very hard day.  I attended a friend’s funeral this morning.  I was touched by the service and more than a little surprised.  Funerals are usually very solemn and understandably sad affairs.  I can’t say that’s true about Mary’s funeral today.  I went into it tearful and mourning the loss of a dear friend.  I came out of the funeral uplifted and joyful for the rich and beautiful life that she led.  It really got me thinking…

What would they say about me if I were in her place?

Morbid thought, I know…but valid I think.  What kind of life have I led?  What impressions have I made on this world?  What would I want people to say about  me????

Honestly, I don’t have a clue what people would say.  Does it really matter all that much anyway?  People could remember me for all the wrong things, but that shouldn’t stop me from living my life to the fullest.  One thing I have to say about Mary…she was a fiery right up to the end.  She made plans, she had goals, and she made things happen.  It’s time for me to take charge of my life and follow her example.  It’s time to really start living.

Today’s giggle is list of 29 things I’m going to do before I turn the big 3-0.

  1. Learn to needle felt.
  2. Take a yoga class.
  3. Take a belly dance class.
  4. Learn to make hard sculpted art dolls, including the joints.
  5. Organize my art supplies.
  6. Reduce my collection of crap (books, chachkas, files, kitchen gadgets, etc.) by at least 30%
  7. Take a trip somewhere…..anywhere…..anywhere but here.
  8. Create a series of artwork based on a single theme.
  9. Dance in the moonlight, preferably somewhere without anyone watching.
  10. Help a stranger.
  11. Get a new tattoo.
  12. Plant an indoor garden.
  13. Refinish my coffee table.
  14. Repurpose IKEA wardrobe into a storage cabinet.
  15. Deep clean the inside of the oven…I mean really get in there and scrub!
  16. Create a household cleaning schedule (and hopefully stick to it).
  17. Visit every lighthouse on Long Island.
  18. Go camping.
  19. Read a book on spirituality.
  20. Take a meditation class.
  21. Reboot my Etsy site.
  22. Finally buy a sewing machine and learn how to use it.
  23. Get rid of every item in my home that is stained, has holes, chips, rust, or is otherwise disgraceful.
  24. Use the cast iron dutch oven that I got as a gift years ago.
  25. Hang shelves above the computer desk.
  26. Compile a book of my favorite recipes.
  27. Sew new pillows for the couch.
  28. Make and keep the dreaded eye doctor’s appointment.
  29. Finish at least 1 of my knitting projects.
So there it is.  That’s my plan.  They’re small goals, I know, but small is good.  Besides, it’s the little things that count in life.
To paraphrase the wise Dr. King, “It’s not how long you live that’s important, but how well.”
6 Responses to “Day 109: 29 before 30”

  1. Jennevieve April 28, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Hey, I really like your list, except for #15. Cleaning an oven, yech! Good luck, I have high hopes I might finish more than half of my own list!

  2. mydailygiggle April 28, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Well, you were my inspiration! I’m hopeful I get to everything.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Days 110 and 111: Procrastination is EEEEEEEVVVVVVVIIIIIILLLLL!!!!! « My Daily Giggle - April 29, 2011

    […] a needle felting kit from Fancy Tiger on Etsy.  Remember…learning to needle felt was on my 29 before 30 list!  I get to scratch one thing off my list […]

  2. Day 113: The gift of jewelry « My Daily Giggle - April 30, 2011

    […] another note…..that’s the awful coffee table mentioned in my 29 before 30 list.  The thing is a true antique (I think it was my Great Aunt’s from the 50′s or […]

  3. Day 140: Garden of Eatin’ « My Daily Giggle - May 26, 2011

    […] I tackled one of my 29 before 30 goals.  I began my indoor garden.  A few weeks back, I bought a strawberry grow kit.  It came with […]

  4. Days 183 and 184: The organizing gnome « My Daily Giggle - July 10, 2011

    […] of my 29 before 30 goals was to seriously reduce my amount of stuff (and thereby become more organized).  Now that […]

Leave a Reply

