Days 104 and 105: What do eggs have to do with Jesus?????

22 Apr

I didn’t post yesterday.  I’d like to say that I had a good reason for not posting, but I don’t.  Truth is, I was feeling sorry for myself.  I had a night where I dwellt in self pity.  Yes, this is almost my 30th year and I’m not where I’d planned on being.  Yes, my financial status isn’t as established as I’d planned.  Yes, I’m living in a 2 room apartment crammed full of crap instead of the spacious house I’d envisioned.  But the fact of the matter is that I’m alive.

I found out earlier today that a good friend of mine passed away.  Mary was a vibrant woman, full of life and fiery spirit.  She was funny as hell and really knew how to get the most out of life.  Little did I know how sick she really was.  I’m told that she passed on without any pain or suffering, but honestly, that’s little comfort.  I’m having a really hard time coming to terms with the fact that she’s gone.  As Billy Joel said, “Only the good die young.”

Today has been rough for me.  I keep picturing Mary as she was, full of life.  I needed a distraction from my grief, lest I fall back into the dark oblivion of days gone by.  My answer?  Egg dying.

I had my friends Kim and Greg over for dinner tonight.  I needed the company and distraction from my thoughts.  We made a fabulous dinner of ham and leek shepherd’s pie using the remains of my Porkover feast.  After dinner, we happily dyed Easter eggs!!!

No, I don’t celebrate Easter.  Yes, I dye eggs.  It’s a little known fact that egg dying dates back at least 500 years before the birth of Christ (wiki).  Ancient pagan religions decorated eggs as part of a spring equinox celebration, celebrating life and rebirth much the same way today’s Easter eggs symbolize the resurrection of Christ.  It is this springtime rebirth that I celebrate with brightly colored eggs.

Here are our eggs.  We used a combination of crayon and stickers to make the lines and patterns.

Greg wrote his favorite word on his egg…

I think Freud would have some interesting comment on that…

Even the cats were into the egg dying business.

finger lickin good!

Leave a Reply

