Day 100: A big giggle for a big day

17 Apr

I can’t believe it’s been 100 days already!  The time has gone so fast.  To be honest, I’m a bit surprised that I made it this far.  I’ve tried journaling before and just never stuck with it, but this feels different to me.  I look forward to making something giggle-worthy every day.  While I don’t always do something elaborate or post lengthy dissertations on deep issues, I have managed to do something..anything..almost every day for the past 3 months.  That’s no small feat, let me tell you.  Go me!

So to honor the big 1-0-0, I decided to make a super big giggle!  I’ve tried some earthworks before in the form of snow sculptures and rock formations, so today’s project wasn’t that much of a stretch for me.  Scott and I built a giant smiley in the middle of a field for all to see!

teehee!

Here he is close up.  Unfortunately, rocks were scarce and the field was a bit soupy, so he doesn’t stand out too well.  He’s still a cutie though!

and a wide shot...

There’s the far away version.  It’s a bit hard to see at this angle, but my giggle is the big yellow spot in the middle…the spot that forms the nose of the super awesome nature made smiley face that I didn’t know existed until I took this photo!!!!!!!!!  Coincidence?  I think not.

It certainly wasn’t easy finding a place to make this giggle.  Long Island is pretty darn flat, and I needed somewhere with a hill that I could climb to look down on what I created.  The only place Scott and I could think of was the Holstville Ecology Center.  Not only did this place have the perfect set up for creating and photographing a giant smiley face, but it’s got a farm/zoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FEED ME!!!!!

This is my favorite picture of the day.  These goats were going bonkers over the food pellets in my hand.  The one up top actually ended up kicking Scott in the shoulder in an attempt to get some food.  Crazy!

Helooooooo

Here’s the goats’ little llama friend…or is it an alpaca?  I can never tell, and I didn’t read the sign.  One way or the other, he apparently just had a haircut and wasn’t too happy about it.

I’m not entirely sure what this creature is.  He looks kinda goat-like, I guess.  He was nice enough to pose for this picture.

Along with displaced livestock, the Holtsville Ecology Center takes in animals that were injured and can’t be released into the wild.  They have enclosures with black bears, owls, foxes, deer, iguanas, and strange creatures whose names escape me.  It’s actually a pretty cool place to visit, even more so because it’s FREE!

I’ll leave you with one last picture from my 100th day of blogging…

Have a great day!

3 Responses to “Day 100: A big giggle for a big day”

  1. Kim April 18, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    That is pretty cool. I’d go just to see a black bear. Hehe, I like how the website says “Remember- if you can’t catch it, it doesn’t need your help.” So if you CAN catch it, there’s something wrong with this picture! Lol.

    • mydailygiggle April 18, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      That’s so funny! I’ve actually never been to their website. Scott and I have been going there for years. I took a whole bunch more pics, but I couldn’t post them all.

  2. iris April 18, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    looks like a real fun time

Leave a Reply

