Days 95 and 96: In bloom

13 Apr

This time of the year is my absolute favorite.  Spring is everywhere.  While I’m not a huge fan of rain, April showers bring May flowers, and those flowers are already in bloom.

I’ve always been amused by the meanings people bring to certain flowers.  Red roses stand for love.  Daisies mean innocence.  Orchids are exotic beauty.  Who decides this stuff anyway?  I mean really…I’m a big fan of finding symbolism in everyday life, but a rose is a rose is a rose.  It’s no more lovely than many other flowers.  In fact, it has thorns for crying out loud!  Shouldn’t a rose stand for “look, but don’t touch?”

In case you haven’t noticed by now, I tend not to buy into popular thought on these (and most other) matters.  I have my own symbolism that serves me just fine.  To me, roses stand for conformity and unoriginality (is this even a word???).  People give the gift of roses not because they want to, but because they think they have to.  To me, lilies will always stand for death.  Just the smell of lilies is enough to give me funeral flashbacks.  And sunflowers…..well, they have a rather special meaning for me.

Sunflowers are the botanical version of someone I knew long ago.  He was big and goofy, sunny and happy…I loved him more than I can possibly explain.  For this reason, I regularly place sunflowers on his grave.

This coming July is the 10th anniversary of Steve’s death.  This past decade has been hard on me, but I’m making a go of it.  I’ve tried my best to move on and live as he would have wanted me to.  I married a wonderful man who is sympathetic and understanding.  I would, however, be lying if I said I never thought of the past.  I’ve decided to commemorate this morbid anniversary with a sunflower tattoo.

Now, I’ve been messing around with designs for a few years now, but I’ve never come up with something I liked enough to permanently ink on my body.  Yesterday, I drew a design that I’m really truly loving.

Ta da!

It’s been a real challenge for me to draw something that maintains the big goofiness of the sunflower without being horribly clunky and awkward.  I like the femininity of the swirl and leaves balancing the hugeness of the flower.  It needed some refining though…

Today, I brought this baby into Illustrator and messed around for a while.

all cleaned up

So here it is all clean and crisp.  I got rid of the extra doodads and lines.  I think it’s much better simpler.  Time for color…

There he is all colored and pretty.  Obviously, I would want my tattoo to have some gradation instead of the flat colors… What do you think?  I’d love to see/hear what other people have done in the way of memorial tattoos.  Share in comments!

5 Responses to “Days 95 and 96: In bloom”

  1. Kimberly April 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I love it!!! Great job!

    • mydailygiggle April 14, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      You really like it? Better than my other attempts?

  2. Lara July 21, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    The design has a really nice flow, and the swirls really do balance the large flower nicely. It could work as-is for a simple tattoo, and is a great beginning for something more complex. Great job, thanks for sharing! I have added your uncolored version to my design inspiration file for flowers, with full credit and a link back here.

    • mydailygiggle July 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

      Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately, the tattoo has been put on hold a bit, but I still love the design. I am having issues with the best location though…

  3. sunitha March 18, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    wonderful drwaings i like ;sunitha

Leave a Reply

