Day 73: Pocket Zen

21 Mar

I may have finished my portable meditation kit.  Maybe.  I guess.  Well…it’s good enough for now.  I picked up a few goodies in my travels yesterday to add inside, but there are still a few things I just can’t find.  I’ll probably add to it at a later date.

When I started this project, I went about it kinda haphazardly.  I just grabbed stuff and glued it to a makeup container.  It pretty much looked like poop.  What do I do when something I make comes out badly?  I rip it apart and start over!

Here is the same container recovered in much much much prettier paper.

It's a butterfly!

I found this pretty 3D butterfly sticker in the clearance bin at Joanne.  I think butterflies are such beautiful symbols.  They go through all kinds of freakish changes in their lives, yet somehow manage to take it all in stride.  I wish to embrace change that easily someday.

It looks like this when opened.

All the goodies fit neatly inside.  And they’re so color coordinated!

Tucked inside are the following: candle, seashell, incense matches, meditation coin, tablecloth, mandala.  I love the purpose of mandalas.  They’re so intricate and colorful.  Tibetan monks make them as part of meditation practice.  I put it inside the lid as inspiration.  The incense matches are pretty fabulous too.  They work like regular matches, except they burn longer and smell like jasmine blossoms.  The oyster shell came from my beach trip the other night and works great as an ashtray for the matches.  The coin has a calm yogi on the front and a nice message on the back.

This is what it looks like when in use.

I'll leave you with this message. Don't forget to breathe.

 

8 Responses to “Day 73: Pocket Zen”

  1. Bodee D March 22, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    So, has all this meditation equipment helped?

    • mydailygiggle March 23, 2011 at 7:25 am #

      Yeah. I hated having to search my home for candles and incense when I wanted a relaxing experience. The little kit is just so convenient. Everything I need is in there, and I can grab and go if need be.

      • Bodee D March 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

        Er, that was a rhetorical question.

      • mydailygiggle March 23, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

        Funny how sarcasm doesn’t work as well on the internet as it does in person. I think something is lost without body language. And I really like answering rhetorical questions. A lot. Keep em coming!

  2. Bodee D March 24, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    All right.

    You are standing at the gate of enlightenment. What is the password?

    • mydailygiggle March 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      Rhetorical.

      • Bodee D March 25, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

        Trick question. There is no gate!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 122: Meditation Mandala « My Daily Giggle - May 9, 2011

    […]  I decided to take a few “me minutes” and try to relax.  Unfortunately, I left my Pocket Zen in another pocket so…..I had to improvise.  I dimmed the lights, put on some Bob Marley, and […]

Leave a Reply

