Day 66: Dear Pen-pal…

14 Mar

I’m a bit disappointed in myself right now.  I’ve had a lot going on, and blogging had to take the back burner these past 2 days.  I just couldn’t get around to doing it, and when I did have the time, my brain hurt too much to type.  Even though I didn’t blog it, I did make a giggle each day.  Let me catch you up.

It’s been a long time since I wrote a letter.  I don’t mean email or a quick note to a colleague.  I’m referring to pen and paper, stamps and envelope, sit down at the table kind of letter.  Snail-mail, as they call it, has kinda gone the way of the dodo.  Gone are the days of chain letters that had to be copied by hand and mailed with stamps.  Gone are the days of watching the mailbox for a response from your friend far away.  Gone are the days of pretty stationary sets and fountain pens and writing desks.  None of it really exists anymore.

It’s funny how the older I get, the more nostalgic I become for these kinds of things.  I never thought I would be the type of person who resists technology, but I find myself in that situation now.  I have a cell phone, but never use it.  I have an e-reader only to save space on my bookshelf.  Hell, I still have a “boom box” with a cassette deck in my classroom (which finally bit the dust today…)!  Don’t get me wrong, I like toys and gadgets.  I just have a hard time letting go of what I’m used to.

Today (Monday), I wrote my first physical letter in I don’t know how long.  It’s addressed to my swap partner. Unfortunately, once I saw my atrocious handwriting I had to settle for a typed and printed letter.  I just couldn’t leave it like that could I?

Pretty stationary!

Here’s my letter all blurred out.  I can’t tell you what I had to go through to get stationary.  Nobody around here carries regular paper and envelope sets anymore.  I had to settle for fancy printer paper.  I wanted to make it special, so I researched different kinds of letterfolds and came up with this:

very secret letter....

I tried dozens of folds, but this one was the only one where I fully understood the instructions.  I’m a visual person, but sheesh!  Come on people!  If you’re posting a tutorial, please include a few written direction in with all the pictures!!!

Then, I got my package together and got it ready to mail.

all the goodies

I hope she  likes it!!!

Leave a Reply

