Day 64: Anyone out there?

12 Mar

Today was a great day.  Scott and I went out east to visit the wineries.  Then, we stargazed over at the Custer Observatory.  I’ve never looked through a real telescope before, and I have to say that it was pretty amazing.  I could see every tiny nook and cranny on the moon, not to mention stars and nebulae that I didn’t even know existed.  I could clearly see things that are hundreds of thousands of light years away with the scopes they had there.  I was pretty awe-struck.

I’ve always had an interest in space(the final frontier).  I grew up in a Star Trek household, and I frequently imagined Vulcans or some other race landing on Earth.  It just doesn’t seem plausible that we are the only lifeforms in existence.  We are a tiny speck inside an infinite universe.  How could we possibly be alone in all this?

That being said, I thought it time to “reach out and touch someone.”  I checked swap-bot this morning and found my mailing information for my next swap!  Time to get to work!  For this swap, I’m supposed to make whatever I make best and mail it to my assigned person.  I checked out her profile and got lots of great ideas.  What did I make?  Hair flowers of course!

This first flower is lavender and black lace on a black ribbon wrapped headband.

ooooooh ahhhhhhhh

Too cute!

The chick’s profile said she liked purple, so I went with it.  It also said she liked 50’s vintage style, so….

It's a pin!

What’s more 50’s than a cheery cherry print?  I made a cute flower that has a pin back AND a hair clip!

It's a hair clip!

It’s definitely more casual and funky than the other one I’m sending her.  I hope she likes them.  I may have to make copies for myself…

One Response to “Day 64: Anyone out there?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 182: Happy Hair « My Daily Giggle - July 7, 2011

    […] am a big fan of fun and funky hair things. (As you can see here, here, here.)  So I was browsing swap-bot a few weeks ago, and there it was…..a swap made […]

Leave a Reply

