Day 61: Rainy day ducky!

9 Mar

Remember back in January when I wished to see something happy in the news?  The sentiment still stands.  Aside from the usual misery, a new issue has taken center stage in the local papers…education budget cuts.  What is wrong with this country that we don’t even blink at the millions of dollars paid to movie stars, but quibble over the salaries of public school teachers?  Who deserves more money?…a celebrity who can take a pretty picture or a teacher who educates and shapes young minds?  Who’s doing more good?  Who’s got the more important job?  Ugh!

Very few people realize how much teachers are responsible for besides the few hours they spend in the classroom.  There are hundreds of hours of prep work, extracurricular activities, parent conferences, professional development, community involvement, and personal hardship that are all associated with the job.  I may only work 10 months out of the year, but I work damn hard during those 10 months.  I have a major problem with people calling my salary into question.

That being said, I really do enjoy my job.  Even with all of the hassle, where else could I be this creative?  One of my extra duties today was revamping the garden display outside of the school.  A few years ago, I worked with the kids to make a unique painted birdbath out of clay pots and glass stones.  It really was beautiful.  Unfortunately, the cold New York winter took its toll, and the birdbath did not make it out alive.  I used the salvaged clay pots to create a cute snowman that was on display all through this winter.

brrrrrrr!

Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the whole thing.  He spent most of the winter buried under the snow.  But it’s March now.  The weather’s getting warmer.  The crocuses are up.  I am soooooo done with snow!

Today I refashioned Mr.. Snowman into a cute little rainy day ducky!

quack!

The back side is cute too!

 

I love her little rain hat and umbrella!  She’s all ready for a spring shower!

One Response to “Day 61: Rainy day ducky!”

  1. iris March 10, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    this is sooo cute. make one for dad.(you know how he feels about his lawn art)

Leave a Reply

