Day 56: A painting fool!

4 Mar

People never cease to amaze me… All too often people just do silly things for no reason.  Take my classroom for example (no really..take it!).  I’ve got big wooden shop tables in my classroom for the kids to work on.  They’re super sturdy, very heavy, and can and have taken a serious beating over the years.  The kids use them as a work surface for their drawings, paintings, pottery, etc.  Someone somewhere down the line decided to paint these hard working tables WHITE!

Don’t get me wrong.  I like white well enough.  It’s bright and airy and, if done right, can lend a crisp clean feel to a room.  Think bathroom or bedroom or any other room found in an IKEA catalog.  That being said, white has no place in the interior decor of an art classroom.  My white tables looked crisp and clean for about an hour after they were last painted before something was dripped, spilled, or smeared on them.  It’s the same reason why I don’t buy white cars…white shows EVERYTHING!  Something had to be done…

pink is pwetty!

Hmm…maybe I should have tidied up before allowing my friendly neighborhood Spanish teacher to snap this picture.  No matter, the table it still pretty cool and I had fun doing it.  I was channeling my favorite abstract expressionists using the oops paint I found at Home Depot.  Apparently a lot of people oops-ed on shades of pink…

close up

I’m thinking this will show less stuff with all the different colors in it.  Maybe it will even get better with time?  Well….I can hope, can’t I?

2 Responses to “Day 56: A painting fool!”

  1. Maria March 5, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I love the photography!!!! : )

Leave a Reply

