Day 54: Gather ye rosebuds while ye may…

3 Mar

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may
Old time is still a-flying
And this same flower that smiles today
Tomorrow will be dying.
–   Robert Herrick

For some reason I recall this poem every time I see a bouquet of flowers.  I don’t know where I learned it or when, but I apparently memorized it somewhere down the line.  It’s kinda miserable when you think about it.  Enjoy your life now, because you’ll be dead pretty darn soon!  Lovely.

This type of poem is very characteristic of who I have been most of my adult life.  It’s dark, dreary, seems all nice and pretty, but it’s really freakin’ miserable.  I’ve lived my life this way for as long as I can remember.  What can I say?  I’m kinda dark and moody.  However, I have noticed a definite shift in my way of thinking over the past few years.  Don’t get me wrong…I still have plenty of doom and gloom Daria-style moments, they’re just fewer and far between.  I’ve been making a conscious effort to change thought patterns and the way I cope with things for a while now, and I think it might be finally working.  After all, the only thing in life one can really change is oneself.

Today, I decided to make a flower that won’t die.  And I experimented with origami.  Go me!

It's a daylily!

And the side

How pretty is that?  I think I may have to make a whole bouquet of these…  You can find instructions here.

Leave a Reply

