Day 51: Senor Potato Head Es Muy Caliente!

27 Feb

Did you have a Mr. Potato Head growing up?  I did, and I loved it.  I would spend hours mixing and matching the assorted parts to make the funniest faces possible.  Somehow, he always ended up as a cross-dressing old man with a bonnet, mustache, handbag, and pipe.  I was an odd child.

Anyway, Toy Story 3 is up for Best Picture at tonight’s Academy Awards.  It was a cute movie, not my favorite in the Toy Story series, but fun enough to enjoy.  I’ll admit that I did get a bit teary eyed here and there, particularly when Andy was saying goodbye to Woody at the end.  And the whole preschool thing totally reminded me of my brief stint as a preschool teacher.  Yes, the movie’s portrayal of a toddler room was 100% accurate!  I still don’t really know if it deserved a Best Picture nomination though…

Regardless, I included it on tonight’s menu in the form of a fun little appetizer which I just have to share.  Ready for this?

hahahahahahahaha

It’s an army of little potato heads all ready to march into my belly!!!!  I haven’t eaten one yet, so I can’t really attest to their flavor.  They definitely get an A+ for presentation!  I got the recipe here.  I changed it a bit…used dried chopped onion instead of the nuts for the noses and regular instead of English cucumbers.  I also had to add the toothpick, because they just kept falling down.  Aren’t they hysterical?!

Eat me!

Wouldn’t this be a great way to get kids to eat their veggies?  What do you think?

3 Responses to “Day 51: Senor Potato Head Es Muy Caliente!”

  1. iris February 27, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    these r soooo cute

    • mydailygiggle February 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      I know! It’s almost a shame to eat them!

      • mydailygiggle February 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

        They were very tasty by the way. Next time, I’m thinking dill instead of chili powder though. Still too cute!

Leave a Reply

