Day 46: Project Organization!

22 Feb

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a pack rat, especially when it comes to art and craft supplies.  I just can’t bring myself to throw anything away.  I may need that tiny scrap of fluff someday!  As a result, my supply closet is a gigantic mess.  I’m terrified of stuff crashing down on me when I open the door, and I can never find anything anyway.  It was time to do something about it.

I took a trip to good ol’ wally world yesterday for some organization inspiration.  Did I ever hit the jackpot!  I haven’t tackled the whole closet yet, but I finally got my beads and fabric in order.

Disguised as a mild mannered blue tote...

Ta da!!!!! Look at all the stuff this guy holds!!!

See all those pliers over there?  I have so many because I KEPT LOSING THEM IN THAT CLOSET!!!!  I had to keep buying new ones!  No more!!!

I also tackled my fabric and hair accessory supplies…

All this.....

becomes this!!!

Soooooo wonderfully compact!  I’m really happy with the results.  I’m not so happy with the mess left over…

Yikes!

3 Responses to “Day 46: Project Organization!”

  1. Kim February 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    I had the same experience buying Spacesaver bags… Simplest idea, and yet best invention ever! In one bag, I was able to fit two blankets (including a comforter) and odds/ends blankets/throws and a spare pillow. I now have three empty shelves in my formica cupboard, and the regular closet is next!

    Btw, I am loving the blue organizational tote!

    • mydailygiggle February 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      The space bags don’t work well for me because of the cats. They loooooove to chew on plastic! Check out Walmart for the blue tote! It’s fabulous!

  2. katie March 3, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    yeah nice

Leave a Reply

