Day 37: Hat crazy!

13 Feb

I am such a hat person.  I’ve always been one.  It all started as a child with a bonnet at Colonial Williamsburg.  It continues through the early 90’s with those big floppy Blossom hats.  Unfortunately, hats kinda disappeared from my wardrobe after that.  I guess they just weren’t “in” anymore.  I have decided to single-handedly bring hats back!

I went through a brief hat making phase this summer, but didn’t make much that I actually liked.  Buckram and wire are pains in the tush, and I just couldn’t wrap my brain (or the fabric) around the overall construction of different styles.  Enter Threadbanger.  They have a million different project tutorials for all things fashion…including this great pill box hat! It was so simple and a whole bunch of fun.  Here’s the finished result:

One hot mama!

This is my Dita Von Teese imitation (well….the G rated version anyways).  I am totally loving the burlesque look.  I think I’ll wear it with a LBD for Valentine’s Day tomorrow.  Did I mention we are going to the opera?!  😀

2 Responses to “Day 37: Hat crazy!”

  1. Kim February 14, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Lovin’ the hat, very nice. Enjoy the opera- which one are you seeing?

    • mydailygiggle February 15, 2011 at 7:25 am #

      We saw Don Pasquale. It was rather fabulous! Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to post a giggle yesterday… 😦

Leave a Reply

