Day 29: Craftsmanship Counts!

5 Feb

Today was a bit of a whirlwind.  I’ll be honest, I didn’t make any new giggles today.  Instead, I tweaked a few of the old ones to make them ready to mail.

Remember Giggle Book? I got so many great responses from people suggesting I get it published.  I sent an inquiry letter out and THEY WANT TO SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  This meant I needed to make a 2nd copy and spiffy it up a bit.

ooooooh......purdy!

Now, the sewn binding I did on the original was all fine and good for me, but it’s a bit too messy to send to a publisher.  Instead, I wrapped the edge with some green cardstock and fastened it with brads.  I think it looks much cleaner this way.

The other thing I did to Giggle Book is add a few words to the first page.  I know I said a book doesn’t need words, but some people thought it was lacking a little something so…here’s my page 1 and my shot at little kid oriented poetry:

not exactly Byron but....passable?

So there it is ready to mail away.  Please keep your fingers crossed for me.  I would soooo love to be published, but I’m trying really hard not to count my chickens before they’ve hatched.

Speaking of chickens…

I finally got my swap-mates today, which meant I had to produce 2 more copies of my Peep Show.  Making more of these also gave me a chance to revamp them a bit.  Let’s be honest…my first copy was a bit on the sloppy side.

Here’s the finished book…

much better!

The pages themselves stayed the same, but I colored them a bit differently and reinforced the structure as a whole.  I did get a bit worried that my swap-mates wouldn’t know what to do with it though…

all dolled up

So I added an instructional tag.  I think it looks so pretty all beribboned.  I even wrote little notes on the back cover, but those are for the recipients only.  Now I need to figure out how to mail something this bulky…hmm.

 

Leave a Reply

