Day 28: The Not-So-Little Mermaid

4 Feb

Ah…Friday.  I love Friday.  It’s normally a light day work-wise, and of course I get to sleep in tomorrow!  I also got to teach my favorite classes today.

During one of those classes, an 8th grader asked me to help her draw a mermaid.  I got to thinking about it and realized that I’ve never really drawn a mermaid.  I mean, I’m sure I copied the cover of Disney’s Little Mermaid sometime back in the 90’s, and I probably have doodled a cartoon mermaid here and there when asked to, but I’ve never really DRAWN a mermaid.  Never in detail anyway.  Today was the day for mermaid greatness!

So what is a mermaid anyway?  Besides a chick with a fish tail, mermaids are symbols of unrivaled beauty and irresistibility.  They’re usually depicted as svelte little things with long flowing hair and tiny perky tatas a la Waterhouse or Disney.  Well that’s not my definition of beauty!  I personally prefer curves, so that’s what I drew!

zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Now that’s beauty!  I think I may watercolor her at a later date.  She needs some sparkle and pizazz, don’t you think?

One Response to “Day 28: The Not-So-Little Mermaid”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Days 107 and 108: Hocus pocus gotta focus… « My Daily Giggle - April 25, 2011

    […] my fat mermaids?  I did 2 drawings back to back in February exploring this idea.  Today’s post is actually a 2 day giggle.  I […]

Leave a Reply

