Day 26: I’ll just leave my card…

2 Feb

Yet another snow day!  Well, I guess it’s more of an ice day.  New York was hit with an ice storm of “historic proportions” last night, or so says the National Weather Service.  Personally, things don’t look too terrible from my window, but I sure as anything am not going to venture out in this nastiness if I don’t have to!  Lucky for me that there’s plenty to do right here.

So I’ve had several experiences lately where someone has asked me for my card.  It happened this weekend at a gallery, a few times this month while shopping for art supplies, and every once in a while I get a random person coming up to me that’s interested in some handmade accessory that I’m wearing.  I had some business cards made a few years ago advertising an Etsy site I ran, but that has since gone the way of the dodo.  I need something new, something fun yet professional, and something multi-purpose.  Luckily I get a million offers for this sort of thing in my inbox every week.  I made up some cards today, and they should be here in the next couple of weeks.  But once they’re here, where do I put them???  The obvious solution?  Make something!

I browsed the internet looking for a pattern and came across this great tutorial on Prudent Baby.com.  I had plenty of fabric hanging around, so why not?  I used buckram instead of interfacing and decreased the size of the front flap, but otherwise followed her directions (without the sewing machine of course hint hint hint hint).  Check it out!

Remember the sugar plum fairy wings?

I can’t wait to get those new cards so I can carry them around in my fun little holder.  In the meantime…I guess this pic is a free plug for my gastroenterologist?

 

One Response to “Day 26: I’ll just leave my card…”

  1. Adrianna February 9, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Love this!

Leave a Reply

