Day 15: Sugarplum Fairies!

23 Jan

I’m sorry that I didn’t post this yesterday.  I was out all day and at a bachelorette party at night, so I just didn’t have the opportunity.  That doesn’t mean that I didn’t create a giggle though!

First, a little back story… I grew up in a household where foul language was not just normal but expected behavior.  I remember teaching my baby sister obscenities to yell out the window while my mother was driving.  Needless to say, I have quite the potty mouth.

That being said, I had to find a way to curb my creative language once I became a teacher.  While I often desire to, it would be highly inappropriate for me to go around telling the kids to “shut the f— up” or to “stop being a–holes” or to ultimately “take your s— and get the f— out!”  That kind of language just wouldn’t do.  I had to find substitute words for the nasty ones.  A lot of people use words like “shoot” and “fudge” in this situation, but they just didn’t work for  me.  I think it’s because they’re too close to the original curses…it’s just too easy to slip up.  So I got creative.  Longer silly words are easier to remember to use, and they entice a good laugh from the kids (added bonus).  And so….”sugarplum fairies” was born!

Yes, the kids make fun of “sugarplum fairies,” but deep down, I know they love it!  Several students have adopted the phrase over the years as a substitute for all the nasties.  It’s so ingrained in me now that I say it pretty much all the time, even when not in the classroom.  It’s always met with giggles of the best kind.  I have been asked, though, what exactly is a sugarplum fairy????

THIS is a sugarplum fairy!

I do my best work in the wee hours of the morning, and this little cutie was started at around 6am.  She’s tiny…only about 4 inches, and made of fabric.  Note my giggle face on her!  And all the pretty plum colors!

She wouldn’t be a fairy without wings!!  But wait…..here’s the best part…

See those tiny “sugarplums” on her head?  They hold a string so I can hang her somewhere!!!  I’m thinking rear view mirror…maybe a hook in my classroom…or maybe I’ll just hang her from my ear and wear her like earrings… Regardless, I got a good giggle in while making her!

4 Responses to “Day 15: Sugarplum Fairies!”

  1. Scott Gingold January 23, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Love the Sugar Plum Fairy, she’s so cute! Next you have to make some fudge nuggets for her to play with.

  2. Maria January 23, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Great job! Love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 26: I’ll just leave my card… « My Daily Giggle - February 2, 2011

    […] Remember the sugar plum fairy wings? […]

  2. Days 118 and 119: Lovin’ the plushies! « My Daily Giggle - May 7, 2011

    […] the same style as my sugar plum fairy from so long ago.  She’s all done by hand (still no sewing machine!) and has crimped green […]

Leave a Reply

