Day 12: Books don’t need words!

19 Jan

I am a voracious reader.  I can go through a book a week if I really try.  I don’t even much care what the book’s about; I just get lost in the language and the story.  It’s definitely escapist behavior, I know, but I just really love to read.

A friend lent me a weird little novel today…Beasts of No Nation by Uzodinma Iweala.  She wanted someone else’s perspective, so I said I’d read it.  Yeah……definitely NOT chock full of giggles, that one!  I’m only a few chapters in, but it’s really heavy writing for such a small little book.  All the death and destruction made me sick to my stomach!  I just had to put it down for today.

And I got to thinking….

Are there any books out there that are just happy????  I mean really happy?  I’m not talking about a happy ending, but an entire book filled with joy from cover to cover.  I really couldn’t think of any that I’d read, so I decided to make my own.

Gather ’round children for Giggle Book !!!!!!!

Check out my snazzy binding job!

Giggle Book has no words besides the title.  It is more of an activity book than a story book, and it’s all done with pictures.

Each page is a giggling face.  The faces are all men and women with different features, colors, etc.

Each page is split into 3 parts: eyes, nose, mouth.  These can be flipped individually to create different giggles.

quickie nose job

There are 10 pages total with endless possibilities for giggle fun (okay….maybe not endless, but don’t make me do the math!).

I think this was a perfect pick-me-up after reading that miserable book.

I will finish it, Allison, but not without several giggle breaks!

3 Responses to “Day 12: Books don’t need words!”

  1. iris January 20, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    i think that this is a great idea. get a publisher.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 29: Craftsmanship Counts! « My Daily Giggle - February 5, 2011

    […] Giggle Book? I got so many great responses from people suggesting I get it published.  I sent an inquiry […]

Leave a Reply

