Day 10: Proper Lady

17 Jan

I started My Daily Giggle in an attempt to be happier.  A little over a week in and I’m generally feeling good (aside from the nasty head cold I picked up and the sciatic pain that’s kept me up all night…but more on that later).  This blog has helped me smile at least once a day, something I haven’t aways done.  I think I may finally be on the road to happiness.

That being said, I’m always looking for tips and tricks to help me on my journey.  I don’t much care where the help comes from, as long as it’s useful.  I was thrilled when I picked up this month’s issue of Real Simple that promised “9 surprising strategies” to help me “be happier this year!!!”  What a let down.  Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed reading the magazine (great tips on making gourmet hot cocoa!), it’s just that the happiness articles were rather uninspiring.  The strategies offered were common sense kinds of things…nothing really earth-shattering.  What I did really enjoy, though, were the pictures!

The articles were illustrated with big bright photos of things that make people happy.  There was a puppy, flower, and a laughing baby.  Now, I have never been the type of person to go gaga over pictures of babies.  I’ll ooh and ah appropriately when friends show me their kids, but I’m not the Anne Geddes poster kinda girl (unlike my college roommate).  Well, this obnoxiously cute laughing baby picture in the magazine got to me somehow, and I just had to do something with it.

"Proper Lady"

Yes, yes…..I painted the damn thing.  I couldn’t just leave it alone though.  It was just a head after all, and it was just too gosh darn cute.  So this is “Proper Lady.”  She’s oil on canvas.  I like to think she’s a bit flapper-esque, what with the finger waves and opera gloves and all.  The painting isn’t perfect, but I’m pretty happy with it, especially considering that it was done at 3am this morning and is my first oil painting in about 4 or 5 years.

aaaand...a close-up

I feel like it’s missing something….maybe a martini glass?  That would explain the baby’s gigantic giggle!

One Response to “Day 10: Proper Lady”

  1. iris January 17, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    LOVE IT!!!

Leave a Reply

